Scotland Championship


Scotland Championship

Top Scorers

Red Cards

Yellow Cards


  • Championship Qualification
  • 2023/24
  • cup
  • Scotland
  • May
  • May

ABOUT Championship Qualification

League Article

The Scottish Championship is the second tier of football in Scotland.

The competition is currently made-up of ten clubs with the eventual champions enjoying automatic promotion to the Scottish Premiership.

Clubs who finish in second, third and fourth enter a play-off at the end of the season to determine who will play in a two-legged tie against the team second-bottom from the Premiership.

First, the third placed side takes on the fourth placed side, with the winner taking on the second placed club in the play-off final.

If the Championship play-off winner manages to beat Premiership’s second-bottom side, then it also enjoys promotion to the Premiership.

The same system applies between the Championship and League One. The side which finishes tenth in the Championship is automatically relegated and replaced by the champions of League One.

Meanwhile, the second, third and fourth best sides from League One compete in a play-off before the winner takes on the ninth placed Championship side in a head to head tie.